Briefings

Archive March 2021

All of the articles archived for the month that you have specified are displayed below.

Week InAdvance: March 29, 2021

Mon Mar 29 OECD conference on future of investment treaties. | Tue Mar 30 Fed's Quarles discusses FSB. | Wed Mar 31 FSOC holds debut gathering. | Thu Apr 1 OPEC+ meeting on output. | Fri Apr 2 Good Friday starts Easter weekend in countries including the U.S., U.K., France, Germany, Australia and Canada.

Week InReview: March 26, 2021

The water cooler... post-Covid.
 
Photo: Getty Images
 
As companies start reopening offices, and perhaps give employees a choice as to whether to return, both companies and employees should consider that without a shared physical space, we will lose a kind of relationship we’re rarely aware of, and that barely has a word to describe it. Somewhere between strangers and friends, these are people with whom we share moments of chats and check-ins. It’s easy to dismiss them as superficial. But the relationships we develop with such workplace acquaintances are much more important to our sense of connection and community than many of us realize.
 
— The Wall Street Journal

Week InAdvance: March 22, 2021

Mon Mar 22 SEC'S 'Pride in the Federal Workplace.' Inaugural BIS Innovation Summit. | Tue Mar 23 Yellen, Powell in the House. | Wed Mar 24 Yellen, Powell Senate hearing. ESMA risk forum. Art Basel. | Thu Mar 25 Tech CEOs testify in the House. EU leaders summit. | Fri Mar 26 U.S. consumer income.

Week InReview: March 19, 2021

Mindfulness at work.
 
Source images: Melpomenem/iStock; anyaberkut/iStock
 
A lot of people have experienced states of “decision paralysis” over minor and relatively inconsequential decisions this past year.
 
In an uncertain environment, every decision requires additional cognitive resources, and over time, those resources can get depleted to the point where even mundane choices feel complex.
 
There are a number of strategies for overcoming decision paralysis, even in difficult or stressful circumstances. The first is acknowledging that most decisions are not set in stone, and that choosing is only the first of many steps toward achieving a particular outcome.
 
— Fast Company

Week InAdvance: March 15, 2021

Mon Mar 15 China releases key economic indicators. | Tue Mar 16 Basel Committee on Banking Supervision meets. U.S. retail sales. | Wed Mar 17 Retail investing and short selling in the House. Fed rate decision. | Thu Mar 18 BoE rate decision. | Fri Mar 19 ESG on SEC's asset management panel agenda. BoJ monetary policy decision. Quadruple witching.

Week InReview: March 12, 2021

The 'Doorway Effect'
 
You head to another room to do something. But, by the time you get there, you've forgotten what you wanted to do. There's a logical explanation.
 
The Conversation

Week InAdvance: March 8, 2021

Mon Mar 8 UN marks International Women’s Day. | Tue Mar 9 'Who Wins on Wall Street' Senate hearing. | Wed Mar 10 U.S. CPI. | Thu Mar 11 SEC investor advisory panel meets. Global clearing ecosystem on CFTC agenda.

Week InReview: March 5, 2021

#thisisnotgin
 
A gin-adjacent gimlet
 
The spirit is in fashion, driven by cocktail culture and an interest in botanical flavors. Varieties have proliferated, including gins that change color when mixed with tonic and others flavored with Brussels sprouts, seaweed, fresh cream and beef.
 
Nicholas Cook, director general of Britain’s Gin Guild, which was spun off from the centuries-old Worshipful Company of Distillers, has been willing to accept all of those. But there’s a simple rule he won’t bend: beverages labeled gin must be at least 37.5% alcohol by volume in Britain, and 40% in the U.S.
 
“If it’s not gin in the bottle, a brand should not put gin on the bottle,” is his mantra.
 
He makes his point over and over, often with a dash of bitters: “No no no #thisisnotgin” he writes on Twitter while pointing out offending beverages.
 
— The Wall Street Journal

Week InAdvance: March 1, 2021

Mon Mar 1 NY Fed forum on racism and the economy. | Tue Mar 2 SEC nomination hearing. | Wed Mar 3 Fed's Beige Book. Sunak delivers U.K. budget. | Thu Mar 4 China sets policy agenda for 2021. OPEC+ meeting on output. | Fri Mar 5 U.S. jobs report for February.

Contributors