Briefings

Archive December 2020

All of the articles archived for the month that you have specified are displayed below.

Week InAdvance: December 28, 2020

Mon Dec 28 Australian, Canadian and U.K. markets are closed for national holidays. | Wed Dec 30 U.K. Parliament vote on EU trade deal. | Thu Dec 31 U.S. initial jobless claims. | Fri Jan 1 New Year’s Day. Most global stock markets closed.
 

Week InReview: December 25, 2020

What to watch.
 
For now, most families will be sticking to their living rooms over the holidays.
 
With Hollywood films appearing on digital platforms at the same time (or soon after) they premiere in theaters, there’s more to stream from home this year than any other holiday in history.
 
A teacher and jazz pianist's body is separated from his soul, Wonder Woman visits 1984, and other feasts for your eyes and ears. Here’s a look at where to start, whether you’re watching a screen or listening to a podcast.
 
— The Wall Street Journal

Week InAdvance: December 21, 2020

Mon Dec 21 Winter Solstice. | Tue Dec 22 U.S. GDP, Conf. Board consumer confidence, existing home sales. | Wed Dec 23 U.S. jobless claims, durables, personal income. | Fri Dec 25 Most stock markets close for Christmas.

Week InReview: December 18, 2020

2020 in review.

Week InAdvance: December 14, 2020

Mon Dec 14 CFTC tech panel meets on virtual currency & DLT. Electoral college votes. Solar eclipse. | Tue Dec 15 FSB climate change/financial stability workshop. | Wed Dec 16 FOMC rate decision. | Thu Dec 17 CFTC to discuss global derivatives clearing.

Week InReview: December 11, 2020

Things just ain't the same for Santa.
 
Photo: David Ryder/Getty Images
 
It's a tough year for St. Nick. The annual tradition of sitting on Santa’s lap – kids whispering gift wishes to Santa while a photographer takes pictures – has undergone a Covid-era reinvention. Children are worried about Santa's vulnerability to Covid. Precautions include shields and snowglobes as well as virtual and outdoor visits.
 
— The Wall Street Journal

Week InAdvance: December 7, 2020

Mon Dec 7 Brexit talks. | Tue Dec 8 CFTC considers final swaps rules. | Wed Dec 9 SEC vote on market data plan Nasdaq deemed unconstitutional. | Thu Dec 10 BIS crypto webinar. EU Leaders Summit. | Fri Dec 11 Preliminary sentiment index.
 

Week InReview: December 4, 2020

Getting it right.
 
Illustration: Mark Matcho
 
When millions of office workers were sent home months ago, many of us hastily set up makeshift desks at dining tables, in garages and in childhood bedrooms — and never readjusted. Countless stiff necks, tight hamstrings and tingling wrists later, that show of creative resilience has turned into a physical nightmare. With the pandemic not slowing down and many workplaces shut down for winter, your long-term health may depend on getting your desk set up well.
 
— The Wall Street Journal

Contributors