Briefings

Archive October 2020

All of the articles archived for the month that you have specified are displayed below.

Week InAdvance: October 26, 2020

Mon Oct 26 SEC roundtable on Reg BI & Form CRS. China’s top policy makers meet in Beijing. | Tue Oct 27 BIS meets on covid impact & stress testing. | Wed Oct 28 OECD ministerial roundtable in Paris. | Thu Oct 29 U.S. jobless claims and 3Q GDP. | Fri Oct 30 OECD forum on infrastructure governance.

Week InReview: October 23, 2020

To globe-trot or not to globe-trot.
 
Illustration: Dave Urban/The Wall Street Journal
 
The call of nature, what Thoreau called the “tonic of wildness,” is hard to ignore during times like these. Millions of adventure travelers are jonesing for a restorative getaway. Weekend cyclists dream of peddling along flat, empty roadways in the bucolic Loire Valley. Recreational climbers itch to scurry along the limestone rock walls in the Greek islands.
 
As countries around the world gradually re-open to tourists, many jetsetters are wrestling with the question: Is it safe and responsible to travel? Or am I being reckless and selfish? 
 
The Wall Street Journal

Week InAdvance: October 19, 2020

Mon Oct 19 Cross-border payments & digital currencies on IMF's agenda. | Tue Oct 20 WEF jobs summit. | Wed Oct 21 Fed's Beige Book. | Thu Oct 22 SEC & CFTC hold joint open meeting.

Week InReview: October 16, 2020

When your team is deflated.
 
Illustration: Dan Page/The Wall Street Journal
 
It could be a project gone wrong, a key colleague’s departure, or just life these days. With many teams still operating remotely, it’s hard for managers to catch signs of morale issues and fix them. Rethinking meetings, giving employees a challenge, and simply listening and offering perspective are among the ways managers are recharging their teams.
 
— The Wall Street Journal

Week InAdvance: October 12, 2020

Mon Oct 12 IMF and World Bank annual meetings. Bond markets closed in the U.S. Canadian stock and bond markets closed. | Tue Oct 13 IMF releases its World Economic Outlook. | Wed Oct 14 G20 finmins & central bank governors meet virtually. | Thu Oct 15 EU summit. | Fri Oct 16 CFTC energy panel meets on ESG factors.

Week InReview: October 9, 2020

Strategic napping.
 
On Wednesday, the Army released new guidelines for optimal soldier performance — and they include strategic and aggressive napping. The recommendation is part of an overhaul of the Army’s physical fitness training field manual, which was rebranded this week as the FM 7-22 Holistic Health and Fitness manual. No longer is the guide focused entirely on grueling physical challenges like long ruck marches and pull-ups. Now it has chapters on setting goals, visualizing success, “spiritual readiness” and, yes, the art of the nap.
 
The New York Times

Week InAdvance: October 5, 2020

Mon Oct 5 SEC's Fixed Income Market Structure Advisory Committee webcast. IOSCO's World Investor Week. Nobel prizes. OECD green finance forum. | Tue Oct 6 IMF’s annual curtain raiser speech. | Wed Oct 7 FOMC minutes. CISA cybersecurity series continues. Draconids Meteor Shower. | Thu Oct 8 'SEC Speaks' in NYC. | Fri Oct 9 Canada bond markets close at 1pm for Thanksgiving holiday.

Week InReview: October 2, 2020

#wfh | Glam up that home office.
 
When the pandemic struck Americans rallied, surveyed their homes, found a table here, a lamp there, some vaguely ergonomic chair and turned a corner of a bedroom, or even a garage, into a workspace. As we venture ever deeper into working from home, it’s becoming clear we need to take these ad hoc, mismatched arrangements more seriously, and even strive to make them chic. 
 
— The Wall Street Journal

Contributors