Briefings

Archive July 2018

All of the articles archived for the month that you have specified are displayed below.

Week InAdvance: July 16, 2018

Mon Jul 16 SEC fixed income panel. | Tue Jul 17 FSOC closed meeting. Green finance summit in London. | Wed Jul 18 SEC open meeting. LabCFTC in NYC. Fed's Beige Book. | Thu Jul 19 NY Fed's ARRC roundtable. | Sat Jul 21 G20 finmins & central bankers in Buenos Aires.

Week InReview: July 13, 2018

Are stock buybacks a bad thing?

"... the historic spending spree on share buybacks has some analysts worried companies are buying their shares at excessive valuations during the peak of the economic cycle and at a time when the market rally is nine years old. Others warn the billions of dollars spent to buy back shares could have gone toward capital improvements like new factories or technology that could lead to stronger long-term growth."

Stock buybacks are booming, but share prices aren't budging - The Wall Street Journal

Week InAdvance: July 9, 2018

Mon Jul 9 Fed board closed session. | Tue Jul 10 Brexit talk at CFR. | Wed Jul 11 IOSCO investment panel in London. | Thu Jul 12 CFTC's MRAC meets. Treasury secretary testifies on global finance. | Fri Jul 13 Fed releases monetary policy report to Congress. | Sat Jul 14 France celebrates Bastille Day.

Week InReview: July 6, 2018

Too hot to trade. As the U.S. northeast sizzled, time became unhinged.

"High humidity is impeding radio transmissions Tuesday among three New Jersey data centers where U.S. stocks trade, according to a note Nasdaq Inc. sent customers. It's taking about 8 microseconds longer to send information from Nasdaq's facility in Carteret to the New York Stock Exchange data center in Mahwah, and an extra 2 microseconds to send data to Cboe Global Markets Inc.'s exchange in Secaucus."

This heat wave's so bad it's even slowing down U.S. stock trades

Week InAdvance: July 2, 2018

Mon Jul 2 Canada markets closed in observance of Canada Day. | Tue Jul 3 U.S. stock markets close at 1pm, bond markets close at 2pm. | Wed Jul 4 U.S. markets closed for Independence Day holiday. | Thu Jul 5 FOMC meeting minutes.

Contributors